Reviews

Allan Jeffries has an incredible selection & incredible staff. I didn't realize how expensive it is to frame a simple picture so I price shopped all over LA. After several calls Allan Jeffries seemed to know their frames and did their homework the best. Sonia was amazing when I came in! She matched a competitors price and gave me her honest opinion on what frame is hot and what frame is not. I like people that keep it real. I would 100% come back here.

Also: MAKE SURE TO CHECK IN ON YELP! They have a $40 for $100 special :)

- Jonny A.

January 30, 2016

Let me start by saying Jen was so patient and very helpful with me calling a bunch of times on the phone before finally coming in.
They are extremely professional and the quality of work is amazing. They really worked with me to give me the best custom frames within my budget. They definitely have my business forever because they really worked with me and came up with great solutions especially when I needed a very quick turnaround time. I had them make (12) frames for my 16x24 images for an art show and they just looked amazing. Will attach some photos!

- Rita L.

April 19, 2016

I first came into Allan Jeffries wanting to get a couple vintage paintings re-backed. To my surprise, they not only did it for free, but completed the job within the hour that I got there. I'm not the type that expects something for nothing. All that was asked of me was that I bring my business back. Welp, that one free transaction has kept me coming back loyally for the past 6 months if not more. I've brought all kinds of things in, pictures, paintings, drawings, all the mediums they're use to working with. Sometimes I know exactly how I want to modify the piece(s) I'm bring in, other times I need the assistance of their amazing staff. I come in so often, I'm sure I've worked with just about everyone.

I will continue to come back, and refer them!!

- Shawna R.

June 18, 2016

Excellent customer service and totally professional, beautiful framing. Worth the price and they work in your budget as well

- Marl O.

June 11, 2016

Brought in several pieces today. Got what I thought was a decent price. After I left, she (Jen) called saying she misunderstood one aspect of my order and over-charged me. She cancelled the transaction and told me I could pay the new lower price when I picked up the pieces.

Who does that? Amazing honesty. I just had to go online to say Thank You.

- Nancy S.

June 1, 2016

I bring my art work here when I have something special I would like to frame. People here are very professional and most importantly have an eye to help pick out the perfect frame. I value their opinion and love the integrity of their work because framing is an art in itself. It is a bit pricey but you pay for what you get!

- Hannah R.

March 27, 2016

Knowledgeable and professional. Justin was terrific in helping me select.
Highly recommend. Did an awesome job and completed ahead of schedule too.

- Laura S.

December 30, 2015

Incredibly helpful, great service, very nice, and they know how to work within your budget. Couldn't be happier.

- Derek S.

June 6, 2016

Used this place recently to get a poster and print framed for my boss. They quoted me less than another shop I visited, and with the $40 for $100 yelp deal, this was a great deal. Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful staff (I think it was Alex who originally went over my options), knew exactly what I wanted, offered additional services but didn't push for me to get something more excessive than the simple framing i wanted. Got the job done 3 days early, I think a week and a half. Cool little shop, and they have candy!! Recommended to the rest of my office as we just moved into a new space and everyone is decorating their offices.

Highly recommend.

- Pamela M.

May 18, 2016

We love our frame. Thanks Allan Jeffries... and there is parking in the back.

- Richard R.

February 5, 2016

Great service, great recommendations. Sean worked with me to find the best framing at a price that was right for me. Would go back!

- Hilary L.

January 11, 2016

These guys know the true meaning of customer service. Sonya and Justin are rock stars! I came in to frame an original piece for my boss. Like all things for my boss, time is of the essence. These guys worked tirelessly to deliver the best framing solution possible and for a fair price. I will 100% be coming here for ALL and any future framing needs. I also plan to suggest them to any of my friends.

- Tristyn H.

October 19, 2015

Found this place based on Yelp reviews, couldn't be happier. Great service, love the frames they helped me choose. My new go-to place for all framing!

- Rita A.

November 20, 2015

I have never had better customer service anywhere. I was helped by Allan, the owner, and he couldn't have been a more warm and kind person. He made great suggestions and I took his recommendations for both pieces I had framed. Just picked up today and couldn't be happier!

- Danielle B.

December 23, 2015

Hands down the best in the West!
Alan is so helpful and although pricey you really get the very finest quality. He really tries to work within your budget.

- Margaret W.

April 21, 2015

This framing store is as good as it gets in Los Angeles! Every staff member is extremely knowledgeable and guides their customers in the right direction as to what may suit their taste best. The owner might just be the kindest soul around town! Highly recommend not only local's around W. Hollywood/B. Hills to come to the store but everyone in the city! Great great store!

- Pierre R.

November 11, 2015

Alex is the most helpful, friendly, cheerful and skilled in the biz. Great place I'll always go here for any future projects x

- Lyn A.

March 24, 2016

You guys nailed it! Just had two very important art pieces framed and they gave me the best deals and they look phenomenal! Thank you so much! Will definitely be coming to you guys from now on!!

- Los Angeles, CA

November 11, 2015

I had a vintage photograph framed - they worked with my grad-student budget and the photograph looks amazing! It is finally on my wall and I couldn't be happier with their work.

- Natalie G.

August 7, 2015

Came in to Allan Jeffries on Saturday afternoon with my fiance to frame a ton of stuff--14 works on paper total, including posters, prints, vintage magazine ads, and postcards. We were helped within 3 minutes of walking in the door, and spent a solid 90 minutes with Alex deciding on framing and matting options for all 14 items. For some of our stuff, like the posters, we already knew we wanted simple, inexpensive metal frames, but for other items, we had no clue what direction to take with framing and didn't want to do uniform black wood frames. Alex was fantastic--he was really patient as we looked at various frame and mat combos, and he suggested frames that I never would have picked but that worked beautifully with the prints we brought in. The pricing is not cheap but is, however, very fair, especially given the quality of the work they do. We did not at all feel pressured to pick more expensive frames, and Alex called Allan to work out a better price for our most expensive selection--and Allan chopped the price in half. My fiance and I both purchased the Yelp deal, which made a big difference in the final tally. I am beyond excited to pick everything up in 2 weeks, and assuming it looks as good as I think it will, I'll be going back with more.

- Andrea G.

January 11, 2016

I came to Allan Jeffries based on other Yelp reviews. I worked with Justin who was stellar and a professional. He worked with me on various frames and made great suggestions. He was patient and very positive and enthusiastic. When he quoted me the price I initially agreed but after some quick thought I ended up coming back to pick a cheaper frame as the chosen ones where too expensive for me. Instead of simply giving up on me and getting cheaper frames he called the owner and got me a better discount after asking me what I felt was affordable for me. This is great customer service and Justin went "above and beyond' to help me out.
Much appreciated Justin and everyone else at Allan Jeffries!!
When I picked up my items the whole staff was happy and very friendly with me. They even allowed me to store my larger Frame until I can get a larger vehicle to transport.
Again above and beyond.
If you're looking for great quality and professionalism come to Allen Jeffries.

- Michael D.

July 28, 2015

Allan Jefferies was recommended by the people where we bought our posters. It was a long drive but worth it. Jen assisted us in picking out the frames, she was very patient. Jen would point out things to look for in the poster and in a frame, helping us settle on a frame that brought out the beauty of the poster. There are lots of frame styles to choose from and all of the staff is very knowledgeable. The framed posters came out beautiful, thank you Jen.
If you need something framed this is the place to go.

- David P.

August 7, 2015

They were helpful and accommodating. I had to get something framed in a black metal frame, same-day, and they got it done in 2 hours.

When I needed to change out the glass for their non-reflective Museum glass a few days later they worked with me on the price.

Prices are fair, quality is excellent and customer support is unmatched. Thanks guys!

- Eduardo P.

September 22, 2014

My fiancé came in to have photos framed to use when he proposed. They came out beautiful. Each frame complimented the pictures perfectly. I now have them put up all over our home. Highly recommend coming here. Allan and his team made my day even more special. Will be back to frame our wedding photos.

- Alexis M.

November 11, 2015

Couldn't be happier with this store! I had five pictures to have framed, and Arturo worked with me, showed me a ton of options and got to a place where I was very happy with the pricing and look. He was very friendly, helpful and communicative. Will definitely be coming back!

- Lauren M.

December 31, 2015

I was planning on heading over to Aaron Brothers for the cheapo special after a few tacos at La Plancha. While reading a couple of negative reviews re: custom framing at AB I looked up and noticed Allan Jeffries across the street. I assumed they'd be a bit more expensive but figured I'd check them out anyway. The second I walked in there I had a good feeling.
They are the bomb! Customer service:10! Knowledge:10 Frame selection:10 Jars of Hersey Kisses while you choose your frame: 10
They spent so much one on one time with me to figure out how to best frame an old print my father gave to me and they were very considerate as to my budget. In fact, they wound up working with me on the final cost. Got the frame back a day before it was due to be ready and it looks as promised. Go get some Hersey's kisses.

- Michael B.

August 8, 2014

The service provided to me at Allan Jeffries Picture Framing is probably the best customer service experience I've had since moving to the states 6 months ago. I was helped by Sonya who spent quite some time with me going over frame and mount combinations for several prints I wanted framed. Being an art student means I have the unfortunate combination of a tight budget and good aesthetic taste, haha, because of my budgetary constraints I had to wait on framing one of the prints for another time, but Sonya spoke with Allan and came up with a price that was perfect for my price range and framing choices that don't look "budget"!

I would recommend anyone needing framing and wanting top notch customer service to go and speak with one of Allan's brilliant employees. If you have a price in mind they will work with you to that.

- George M.

June 17, 2015

I had a vintage litho that I needed framed. Jeffrey was very helpful and spent time providing his feedback on the type of frames and color schemes used in that era. It was a perfect fit for my mid century art and looks great on my wall. I was very happy and have returned many times since then for his expert advice and quality framing.

- Hugo M.

November 10, 2015

These guys are phenomenal. They took a few amorphous projects of mine and turned them into something unique and special (at half the cost of one of the more infamous box-store framing Co's in town). Also, I know this is weird to say about a framing store, but it's also one of the most soothing places I've ever been to in LA County. They could make bank by renting out one desk to the nearest screenwriter; it's like NPR but for your Instagrams.

- Crystal H.

March 17, 2015

Had a canvas print stretched and framed here and they did an amazing job. It was my first time having this done so I didn't know what to expect but the staff was so welcoming and kind it made the experience less stressful. Sean helped me pick a frame and even gave suggestions on a few. They are a bit pricey but they will work with you and your budget! They really want to make you happy here. I will definitely go back!

- Tiff M.

November 15, 2015

Sean and Allan gave me a really good price to have my canvas painting stretched and framed. Although they don't provide deliver service, Allan offered to drop off my 58"X42 painting at my place. They went extra miles to make the customer happy. I love my painting and thank you for your good services Allan.

- Christopher N.

November 15, 2015

Did not purchase the deal...don't care these guys are the best and worth every penny. I have had a few things done and these guys continue to do an incredible job and such quality, things that will last a lifetime. I am super conservative when it comes to the opportunity cost of things that I can do or get myself. This is not one of those things and again, so worth it.

- kristi c.

September 28, 2015

Outstanding service and their work is of the highest quality. Jen helped us, and she was amazing. She listened to what we wanted, was patient, and picked out the perfect frames for our pieces. The finished work was even better than we had hoped. We'll definitely choose this place again for anything we need to have framed.

- Sharon Y.

May 26, 2014

This has been my go-to framing shop for over 5 years. The quality of work is fantastic with matching customer service. The designers are extremely helpful, have excellent ideas and the prices are fair. If you value a business where the people take pride in their work and treat you right then look no further. I speak from experience as I have used them many times for custom framing including family photos, concert ticket stubs and personalized letters. Check them out and you will be glad you did!

- Michael M.

January 15, 2015

so i storm into this establishment highly caffienated, fired up to get some pieces framed. Jen helps me. she sorted me out. i drove her nuts because of the gallery i was dealing with etc. she didn't break a sweat.
i get called a few days later, your artwork is ready. i pick it up. its perfect. excellent job. fantastic customer service-Jen is epic! didn't really deal with anybody else but I'm sure everybody is great
i will bring all my stuff here and i look forward to to it.
JF

- Joey F.

April 18, 2014

You can definitely tell the difference when you go to a place like Alan Jeffries after visiting other places like Aaron Brothers.

I had 3 pieces to frame. I had them quoted at Aaron Brothers. Basically, the sales woman there offered no real help artistically in deciding what to do. She basically agreed with everything I said.

I went to Alan Jeffries afterwards, and Jen (I believe it was) basically gave me a whole new perspective on my pieces, and we went in a totally different direction. Things turned out awesome, and people have stopped to compliment me on my framing choice for the pieces. Each piece was framed in a different frame than I originally had in mind, but it turned out much better and less boring than my original basic ideas. THAT's why I will continue to go here, for their VISION and EXPERTISE! They spent a lot of time with me on the entire process and worked with my budget.

They have parking in the back and will help you carry stuff to your car.

I highly recommend them, especially if you aren't an artist yourself!

- Britt S.

November 12, 2014

Amazing and helpful staff. They really worked with me to find a perfect frame and when it was out of my budget they found a way to get it within my budget!

They are even rushing to get it done for me in time for an event. I love place! Bringing everything here!

- Deniz N.

March 7, 2014

Simply amazing work.

I was looking to decorate my apartment with some framed one-sheets and while I'd previously gone to Frugal Phil's because of their prices, I decided to try out Allan Jeffries to see how their quality and pricing compared. I called ahead of time and they told me that I could have a standard one-sheet (27 x 40) mounted and framed for $69, so I decided to come in and check it out. Best decision I've made in years.

On this first visit, Jen was helping me frame two posters. I was looking for a border that wouldn't break the bank yet wouldn't look cheap and she showed me a variety of colors and a few different styles to choose from. Picked a style and a color, paid for half up front and she told me it'd be ready in two weeks.

I get a call a week and a half later saying it's ready for pick up, so I stop in again and bring two new one-sheets in that I was only going to do if the quality on the first round was acceptable. It was more than just acceptable - it was outstanding. The frames were simple yet elegant, the mounting was pristine and it looked terrific. Another staff member Trina helped me pick out frames for the next two pieces and she knew what I wanted almost instantaneously. And if this second round turns out to be anything like the first, I'll be over the moon.

Between my two visits, I signed up for the Yelp coupon, which helped me save quite a bit of money. There's no substitute for quality and good craftsmanship and next time I need to get something framed, Allan Jeffries is going to be my one and only stop.

Thanks again to Jen & Trina for their help.

- Solly M.

March 19, 2014

True professionals!

- Gwen R.

December 26, 2014

I had a wonderful experience this morning at Allan Jeffries.
I enjoyed their famous customer service.
I got a great deal from Allan and the best product.
I'm so happy with Allan Jeffries. I will give them all my framing work from now on.
Highly recommended.

- roy l.

December 17, 2014

Every time I need something framed, the only place I go is Allan Jeffries on 3rd. Sean/Shawn helped us this last time and he was great! They easily bring creative suggestions for frames and he was able to match the backing perfectly. I love this place!

- Cecilia B.

January 8, 2015

Fantastic work and fantastic people. Really considerate and helpful, worth every penny.

- Anna S.

June 22, 2015

I highly recommend Allan Jeffries Framing! Trina was GREAT to work with! Be sure to ask for her. I live in Denver, and shipped a Joan Jett print to them, because my boyfriend lives in Los Angeles, and I couldnt take it on the plane. They had it ready for me when I got there, and he was SO surprised! Trina was very helpful on the phone, sent me a proof of what it would look like, and completely blew me away with the finished product!

If you want high quality, search no further. :)

- Heidi S.

February 18, 2014

Wonderful customer service and great staff. I needed something framed a bit quick and they helped me out big time! Thanks for everything. ^_^

- Michael K.

September 14, 2014

you get what you paid for! Great service with knowledgeable and thoughtful sales staff. They take the time to walk you through the many choices they have available. It was a bit more expensive than I had expected, but the end result was delightful

- James B.

April 16, 2015

The work was fast and great suggestions given. The coupon also helped. Will recommend.

- Henry M.

September 3, 2014

They'll work with you on price! And a super fast turnaround I'm talking less than 24 hours if you need it. Helped me design framing for a 6 page editorial I was in. Really great a s knowledgeable staff. Lovely place.

- Clark G.

August 8, 2013

Amazing service!! Huge selection. I came in today to frame two paintings. I worked with Jen. She was so patient and calm. She put up with all my questions. She showed me over 20 frames. I never once felt rushed. At the end, Jen found me the perfect frame. It was better and even cheaper than the one I had picked out.

- Mark L.

July 11, 2014

I brought in an unusual project: my wife and I moved out of our old house, and I wanted a large collage of photos from our time there, as well as the old house numbers. I worked with Allan and another employee to figure out the best way to mount this, and they were committed to making it elegant and meaningful, offering lots of advice while listening to what I wanted. This should have been so much more than what they charged, but they gave me an amazing price and my wife absolutely loves what they created for us. Can't recommend this shop enough: pros who really care about what they do.

- David B.

April 25, 2015

Beautiful, meticulous work. I brought in two pieces to be framed - a cheap poster and one of my grandmother's original paintings - and Trina treated each with respect and care. When I picked framing options that were absurdly outside my budget (I apparently have really expensive taste), she worked with me to find more modest choices that still looked amazing. And when I suggested something kind of boring, she gently guided me toward a much better frame that I never would have considered on my own. The work took a while because their supplier didn't ship something on time, but Trina always kept me in the loop. The shop also installed a hanger on a mirror for me for free - such a nice gesture.

- Arianna H.

May 7, 2014

Very easy to deal with and they did a great job for me.

- Moe R.

June 3, 2014

They were fantastic! I needed to get a custom piece stretched and they did a wonderful job. Great customer service - they are experts at what they do. The prices were reasonable and the piece came back before the estimated date. I'll be back!

- Katie V.

August 18, 2014

Their initial quotes are always high, negotiating is needed. Otherwise great service and wonderful work.

- Sky N.

February 7, 2014

I have been to Allan Jeffries framing numerous times. They have a great selection of stock frames, but their best work seems to be with custom frames. They have always been more than happy to work with me to find something that fits my budget (custom framing is never cheap), as they have frames that range from low and middle prices to very high-end. I even called them this morning just to ask about recommended shipping companies, without even a product in hand, and they were more than happy to refer me. Will continue to go back. Also, keep an eye out for the deals on yelp!

- Colin R.

January 15, 2015

They're the best! Not only great framing and advice, but I needed a repair to a litho. They gave me a referral to a person at LACMA who was incredible.

- Anthony D.

December 20, 2013

Allan Jeffries Framing is great. The people who work here are friendly, informative, and are willing to work around your budget. I was very pleased with their service and the end product.

Highly suggest doing business with them.

- Lauren T.

October 26, 2011

Incredibly nice and knowledgeable staff with a lot of experience. To top it off, their prices are reasonable. This was my first attempt at getting something framed and Allan pretty much saved me from getting ripped off by a chain company while trying to get a fifth anniversary gift to my wife framed. While Aaron Brothers were throwing around complex terminology and trying to tack on endless additional charges, Allan doesn't even charge for expedited service.

There's probably somewhere that could low-ball this place, but I'm a thrifty dude and I can promise you, dollars to donuts, there's nowhere that does such good work for such reasonable prices.

Basically, if you don't get your stuff framed here, I don't think we can be friends anymore.

- Corey C.

June 22, 2013

Trina at Allan Jeffries is AMAZING!! I had four pieces framed for under $200 - she just made it work with my budget. They did a great job and now I'll never go anywhere else for framing.

Parking in the rear is key!!

- Meghann M.

April 15, 2014

Allan and his gang are amazing! They gave me a great deal on framing two prints. These guys are real artists and more interested in helping you out than making a buck. My new framer in LA.

- Jeffrey B.

November 8, 2014

Expensive but wow are these guys pros. I wouldn't go here for a simple poster or photo, but if you have a piece of art that needs attention and you are willing to invest in quality, you won't go wrong with A.J.

- Adam S.

January 17, 2014

Amazing on the phone customer service. Legit frames. The only con? It's in West LA!

- Roger H.

September 18, 2013

The customer service here is so great and super friendly! They are very attentive, but not pushy. I bought a large order and they helped me straight out to my car. Some Mom and Pop shops in LA can be jerks to people working in the film industry, but this place didn't even bat an eye at my odd needs. Thanks so much! Stores like this place make my job so much more pleasant!!

- Amanda P.

May 9, 2014

I've been going to Allan Jeffries for my framing for years and they've always done a terrific job. Trina is fantastic, giving the best framing therapy in town! I wouldn't go anywhere else to frame something!

- Richard W.

April 24, 2014

Excellent quality price and service.

- garry k.

April 11, 2013

These guys are the best. So friendly, so detail oriented. I couldn't be more pleased with how my piece turned out. Prices are very reasonable, especially considering the workmanship and the care that goes into making sure that the framing is going to look its best.

- Jill D.

August 17, 2013

Quality work that matches the insanely friendly and easy to work with personalities!! I cannot say enough nice things about this place. They have a HUGE fan over here - our whole office goes to them for everything. Timely, great work, and wonderful communication - not to mention awesome prices. Everyone I speak with over there is so sweet and helpful and working with Jen one on one has been a total joy. 100% love them!

- Jordan B.

May 14, 2013

Good place for getting frames for all sorts of items from posters to mirrors. They have a great selection and knowledgeable staff.

- Cherry D.

June 10, 2013

a wonderful framing service with great customer service.

- Emily B.

April 8, 2014

Love this place. Sonya was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Very affordable and with the Yelp deal it was even better. They were able to turn around a basic job on 3 pieces in 24 hours. They also provide a hook/hanging kit with each piece and put the felt tips on the back. I will definitely be returning.

- Robyn M.

July 29, 2013

I wake up Valentines Day morning with a brilliant idea to frame an oversize panoramic photograph for my boyfriend that has been sitting in the corner of apartment for months. But who on earth would turn a job around in the same day, without charging me an arm and a leg and taking advantage of my desperate situation??

Allan Jeffries, to the rescue!

I called two other places before Allan Jeffries: one place which advertised a 50% off custom framing deal, BUT whose original prices were absurd--like $500 for the "cheapest" option. The second place was nice and gave me a good price, BUT said I had to wait a week! I quick "google" search for "same day framing in Los Angeles" pulled up Allan Jeffries. The woman (Trina) who answered the phone was incredibly helpful, especially given that I had no idea how custom framing worked. She told me she would match the quote of the good deal the second place gave, AND when I asked about same-day framing, she said "bring it in. we'll make it happen!"

Who would have thought that a frame shop in the middle of fancy-pants 3rd street next to luxury fashion boutiques would have affordable framing rates, impeccable quality work, AND amazing customer service--the kind of service that revives your faith in good people making an honest living, who love what they do, and go out of their way to give you a great experience. I even lucked out on a few complimentary upgrades, simply because they did not have the less costly material on hand that day. Yay!

When I went to pick up my piece, I thanked them over and over for making my gift happen in just a few hours, even though they were busy. Trina replied "No problem--we LIKE making these things happen for people." I knew she meant it too. I am planning to bring in a few more things to get framed because I was so happy with this last job!

- Dinki C.

February 18, 2011

As my mom is fond of saying, "If your frame costs more than the art you're framing, you're at the right place."

Consistently I've had unique framing jobs and consistently Allan Jeffries Framing has astonished me with their work -- whether it be mounting a signed Murakami lithograph in plexiglass or framing a 10 ft. wide piece in whimsical-yet-understated carved wood -- if they can't do it, chances are you're in big trouble.

... only once did I have a job that these guys couldn't tackle, and in their defense, at least they tried -- most other framers, including Jerry Solomon, pretty much kicked me out of the store once they saw what I had in mind (LoL) ...

I've been going to them for a number of years now and they've always taken the time to indulge my artistic sensibilities, pulling samples off the wall and offering opinions when needed. Their work is fast and professional, and their patience is admirable. Highly, highly recommended. You get what you pay for.

Oh, they have free candy!

- Matt P.

October 19, 2010

I worked with Trina. She rocks. Trina helped me pick a classy frame, matting, etc. for my diploma--all within my price range. She was very patient with me. This was my first time getting something framed.

They took longer than expected to complete my frame. I totally understood. This place was bombarded with people, like me, redeeming their Groupon before it expired. A later expected completion date was fine by me. Trina had called me a week BEFORE the job was supposed to be completed to let me know they needed an extra week to complete the job. I was in no rush. They actually finished the job earlier than the second quoted completion date.

When I picked up the frame I was impressed. The job looked better than I expected.

I was a little scared to carry the frame out to my car because they only cover the item with shrink wrap. My diploma and awesome frame made it home without me putting any dings on the frame.

Thanks Trina for helping me pick out an awesome frame and working within my price range.

I still think this place is pricey because I'm used to picking up cheap-o frames to frame my stuff. BUT I guess they are comparable (maybe even cheaper?) to what fancy framing shops charge for quality frames.

- R M.

June 10, 2011

Allan Jeffries is a shining example of what every store should strive for with customer service. My Girlfriend and I came here to have some Butterflies framed. They went above and beyond what was called for and made sure that we where happy. I can't say enough good things about this place. It really is refreshing to find this type of service when everyday we seem to be surrounded with mediocre at best service. Thank you again for all your help.

- Sheenon O.

November 16, 2012

If you are looking for a place to get some custom-framing done I HIGHLY recommend that you go to Allan Jeffries.

Now I'll start with the negative first. This place is PRICEY. Even with my Groupon discount, I wasn't even close to being within my price range when I first starting picking out frames. Apparently I have excellent but expensive taste.

That being said, Sonia was just absolutely AMAZING at helping me find a frame that was both almost affordable and that complemented the poster I had brought in. She has such good taste and her selection was spot on. The frame she helped me choose was still just out of range, so Allan himself came over and ended up meeting my budget!

SUCH great service at this place, the employees are so helpful and it's obviously run by someone with great business acumen.

Four stars and would have given five if the prices were a little more reasonable but I guess they have to pay rent on 3rd Street. Yikes!

- Jamie K.

March 23, 2011

I was very happy to have found this place. I have a very rare, vintage movie poster I wanted to have framed and because it was a strange size I was going to need a frame made for it.
I found this place and they immediately laid out my options. I didnt want to spend more than around $100 so they told me all about aluminum frames, UV protection because of the fragility of the print etc etc etc.
I also remembered that I wanted to get a signature on it so they PACKAGED it for me to be shipped for nothing. They filed away the paperwork for what we talked about and when I came back three months later, simply pulled the file and executed the order.
This shop is full of professionals who actually give a damm about what their customers think and they actually care about the final product they produce. These days that is a glimpse into actually how great this place is. Very professional, polite and very high quality. If you care about quality, CHECK THIS PLACE OUT.

- AJ R.

January 19, 2011

A place where promises still count as something. Excellent customer service and great work.

- Lone F.

January 25, 2014

Just got my frame! Wrapped in plastic, available before the time they said it would be! Who can ask for more.

Great job at a high price.

- david r.

March 8, 2011

If you have a special piece of art worthy of a frame, take it to Allan Jeffries. A beautiful frame can truly enhance the beauty of the content. We've had about 10 custom frames done here and we're extremely happy with the results.

Allan has a fantastic selection of high quality frames to choose from. Walk in with an idea of what you're looking for, but keep an open mind. Allan and his staff will offer suggestions and show you examples you may not have expected. A lot of times they will surprise you, but in a good way. It is helpful to speak your mind and have a discussion on what you envision. It's a fascinating process like seeing a caterpillar turn into a butterfly. At the end you'll be happy and confident with the result.

Each finished frame is handed to you nicely wrapped in a thick see-through plastic bag with all the necessary hanging hardware. A nice touch.

Now, nobody's perfect. They did ruin one original illustration once, but Allan took care of the situation. One word of advice if you ever bring original art, make sure you're very clear with your instructions. Make sure you have no regrets.

I still think Allan has a great shop and I will continue to be their customer as I have been.

Oh. Remember to take a piece of chocolate on your way out.

- Moto M.

May 25, 2010

They couldn't have been kinder or more helpful for a last minute rush project. Not inexpensive, but well worth it. Will come back again, for sure!

- susan o.

March 4, 2014

I am a little late doing this, but I cannot give enough stars to Alan and his staff. He went beyond the call of duty helping to get a very large painting to his business for framing. The entire staff is extremely professional, their work is second to none (and I have a sharp eye for detail as an Architect). You will be surprised that you will typically spend less then if you had a visited a chain, such as Aaron Brother. Support our local small businesses.

- Barry T.

September 2, 2012

This place is fantastic. Great staff who does great work. Just picked up my canvas that Allan Jeffries stretched for me and it looks phenomenal. Excellent work, fair pricing and great staff. You really can't beat that. Tip: there are a few parking spots in the back for customers so you don't have to look for street parking.

- Melissa F.

August 31, 2012

If you have something special to frame, this is the place to go! This has been my go to place for framing for years. The selection of frames and matting is fantastic, one more beautiful than the next. Plus, you'll get the keen, artistic eye of the staff. I recently framed several more pictures and photos. I worked with Jen, who was very patient with my need to frame these pieces just right. And Allan was a doll. When I wavered over some frames because of the very high cost, he negotiated way down in order for me to pay proper homage to my dad's Japanese prints from WWII. Now that's customer service!

- Deborah B.

February 21, 2014

I wish I could give a 6th star for the above-and-beyond care and quality I've received from Allan Jeffries. You really can't put a price on someone who wants to understand and appreciate your connection to whatever you're framing. It's the difference between getting something for your wall and creating a prized possession that you'll want to keep with you forever. I've been more than once and have been blown away by the cheerful sincerity and integrity of everyone that works there. I LOVE the pieces I've had framed there and I couldn't recommend them more.

- Willy L.

March 9, 2012

True framing professionals. Exceeded all of my expectations. I will use them anytime I have anything that needs framing.

- Drew H.

September 20, 2013

I love this place. I have been going there for many years. The staff is professional and always help pick the perfect frame for your special piece. They never make you feel rushed or that your piece, be it a poster or photo of your pet, is less important than some important art piece or something they are framing for a professional photographer or artist. With their "recession friendly-pricing" they will work with you until the price is what you can afford, which is really awesome. You will end up with a product you will be proud to hang on your wall.

- Jill F.

August 15, 2012

UPDATED UPDATE: Allan read my review on Yelp and called me to offer a free fix of the problem and told me if he couldn't he'd refund my money. He left a message on my cell phone and sounded so genuinely upset and concerned I called him back immediately. He is such a nice guy that I felt like a jerk for my bad review. Okay, so at least for not calling them first to try to correct the problem.

So Allan, I apologize to you for not being more of a diligent consumer. I did not see your guarantee when I was in the shop and thought I was just SOL. I will bring the pieces in the next few weekends, and let you know ahead of time so I can meet you in person.

Really, people, genuinely good person here. I'm 99.9% positive that when I get these pieces back I'm going to be giving Allan Jeffries five glorious stars....and I'll be sure to let you know why.

- Elizabeth P.

February 4, 2009

yep, great service, nice folks, great job!! my only deduction is the price. i'm spoiled from my ghetto artist-friendly framers...but I would go here again for sure esp. if i needed something really really important done.

UPDATE: the pieces I had framed are buckling and I'm really disappointed for the $$$ spent.

UPDATED UPDATE: Allan read my review on Yelp and called me to offer a free fix of the problem and told me if he couldn't he'd refund my money. He left a message on my cell phone and sounded so genuinely upset and concerned I called him back immediately. He is such a nice guy that I felt like a jerk for my bad review. Okay, so at least for not calling them first to try to correct the problem.

So Allan, I apologize to you for not being more of a diligent consumer. I did not see your guarantee when I was in the shop and thought I was just SOL. I will bring the pieces in the next few weekends, and let you know ahead of time so I can meet you in person.

Really, people, genuinely good person here. I'm 99.9% positive that when I get these pieces back I'm going to be giving Allan Jeffries five glorious stars....and I'll be sure to let you know why.

- Elizabeth P.

August 8, 2008

I found myself in a crunch when the curator for a group show informed me just this week that he needs my pieces by friday...After striking out with a few other options (my FAV place downtown is always slammed and could never get this done in time, a really well-reviewed place on 3rd didn't answer the phone all morning, DIY is not preferred) I yelped something close to work and viola! Allan Jeffries on 3rd & Sweetzer.

I have yet to pick up my work, but I have to give this place a pre-emptive five stars due to the fact that unlike others I tried to reach:
a) they answered the phone
b) they answered my questions
c) they worked out a solution to meet my budget, make it look good AND provide a LIGHTENING QUICK turnaround time.
d) excellent customer service and huge selection

I will try to remember to update once i pick up the work. If i don't come back to update, it means it was awesome and I still stand behind the five star rating.

UPDATE: yep, great service, nice folks, great job!! my only star deduction is the price. i'm spoiled from my ghetto artist-friendly framers...but I would go here again for sure esp. if i needed something really really important done."

- Elizabeth P.

October 10, 2008

I have never been moved to write a review until today when I picked up the most beautifully framed heirloom that I cannot wait to display in my home.

Knowing how expensive framing is, combined with my limited current budget - I purchased a Groupon with the intent to frame a gorgeous necklace that belonged to my mom. Sonya not only spent well over an hour working through a myriad of potential options, but went above and beyond to help me stay within my constrained budget. She even went as far as to ask Allan himself for a price break to make it possible.

Today I went by to pick it up, and literally cried when I saw it. Working with the staff was a delightful experience, and they created such a magnificent reminder of my beautiful mum.

I cannot find the appropriate words to express how thrilled I am. Thank you!!

- A H.

August 22, 2012

I used my Groupon here, and it was definitely worth it. They did a great job with my Beastie Boys print and the salesperson (Sonya) was super nice and really helpful. My frame was done before the scheduled date too, so that was definitely a plus.

- Mark G.

March 24, 2011

A friend in the costuming trade for the film industry steered us to Allan Jeffries Framing because "They know what they're doing." Boy, do they ever! We had a big, complicated project in mind that required far more than simply tucking something behind glass. Atturro at the Manhattan Beach store was our initial contact, and later the project was moved to the L.A. store for execution of all the particulars. Sean listened patiently and carefully to our many detailed requests, and Francisco did a masterful job of arranging and securing everything just so. It was a thrill to work with them and see our vision take form. Thank you, guys, for the great work. You have created an heirloom for our family.

- JoAnne C.

June 26, 2013

If you are going to have something custom framed, have it done right. I started going here years ago at the advice of my then boyfriend, a fancy pants photographer. And he was right. They stock beautiful frames and do really good work. It isn't cheap but that is primarily because they stock beautiful woods.

Also, and this is really important, the staff know their work. They have a good eye for what works, know the prices well if you are trying to hit a certain price point, and just have generally good taste. If you don't know what your art needs, I bet they do.

You aren't going to look back at that special piece and wonder why the cheapo "custom" place that gave you a 50% coupone suggested you frame that illustration is puce with gold.

- DCA D.

April 23, 2012

Custom framing is a long way from buying some ready-made bunch of sticks at Ikea. These people are artists, who live to serve their customers. Great framing enhances and preserves the art/photos/keepsakes and Allan Jeffries provides great framing. Worth the money, and they're the nicest crew of people around, too. Free parking in the back.

- Idee F.

May 15, 2010

I am thrilled once again with the frame and mat combination Jen helped me select for a woodblock print I recently purchased. Jen has an incredible eye, an understanding of the subtleties of color and design I value, and the patience that makes the selection process enjoyable. When I was uncomfortable with the cost of the first frame we chose, Jen found another, more reasonably priced, that actually worked better. I cannot imagine better customer service.

- James J.

September 30, 2011

I love this place!! When my boss needed a huge shadow box made and he wanted it done in a couple of days I didn't know what I was going to do. I have never found anyone that does shadow boxes in less that 15 days! Thankfully I called Allan Jeffries and my prayers were answered. Sean assured me it would be done in time, and dealt so skillfully with my crisis, I think he must have a degree in therapy as well as his expertise in art! They did a fantastic job and my boss was so happy. I highly recommend Allan Jeffries- the staff is terrific and helpful, and the work wonderful!

- Kimshelley L.

February 25, 2009

PRESERVATION ARCHIVAL FRAMING AT OUTSTANDING PRICES.
Most framing is more expensive then you think. People buy a $100 print and pick out an elaborate frame only to find out it costs three or four times that to frame. That is the reality of framing. GOOD FRAMES ARE EXPENSIVE.
Here is what matters:
1. Quality -Mean preservation. I trust my most expensive works of art to these guys and I am not the only one. Go in there and you will see some very high end art being framed.
2. Price- Fair, framing is not cheap, if it is cheap - its a cheap frame with acidic elements and bad adhesive. If you want to frame junk, go to Aaron Brothers. If you care about your collectible, go to Alan Jeffries.
3. Design. -See Trina, she has a great eye and will come up with ideas that you have not even thought of. Her objective is always understated elegance. They spend time with you to get your frame just right.
4. Turn Around time. -They are well organized shop with good management, I have yet to find a shop who can turn a frame around quicker than they do.

AJ Framing has done many, many frames for me over the past 6 years. I have never once been disappointed. But I bet if I was they would fix it right away.

With me I would give them 6 stars ("this one goes to eleven"), if they had such a rating.

- Joseph N.

June 25, 2012

My new FAVORITE place for top quality framing! I'll never go anywhere else again. Seriously, from the moment I first called and then came in to talk about my pieces, everyone was SO helpful and kind. My artwork came alive - each framer there is so skillful and talented. They will work with you on pricing, too. You wil not be disappointed!

- Carey M.

May 19, 2010

This is the kind of store you WANT to shop in! The staff is friendly, the prices are good and everyone goes out of the way to treat you like a valued customer. My husband has taken many precious things there to be framed and we have always been very happy. I just went there myself and Trina was fantastic. She saved me money and gave me my framed image back and I am delighted!

- Phyllis H.

May 18, 2012

I just picked up my beautifully framed art work from Allan Jeffries. I rushed in last week, at the end of the day, and Sonya worked with me patiently for over an hour, helping me to create a floating frame and mat combination for a large drawing on Japanese paper. I am so pleased with the results. The craftsmanship and expertise of both Sonya and Francisco, the framer, are top notch, and my framed drawing was ready in less than a week to ship out for an exhibit. For individual consultation, a beautiful frame, archival materials, and custom work at a high level of quality, go to Allan Jeffries. They offer a very fair price for such excellent work.

- R W.

August 9, 2011

I went in to get 2 prints framed for my boss. Arturo was very knowledgable & helpful in the process of framing. Unfortunately, I damaged one of the frames in transit & went back to see what they could do. Arturo assessed the damage & gave me my options. I fully expected to have to pay for the repair of the damaged area. Arturo let me know they could probably discount the repair, but would let me know. I got a call the next day from Arturo who informed me that Allan would actually repair the damage free of charge! I am so grateful for the help, knowledge, & customer service these gentlemen provided. I feel they do quality work with a small business attitude. My boss was very content with how his prints came out.

- Priscilla A.

March 21, 2016

Best Frame store in the South Bay. Bar none!

- Pierre R.

November 11, 2015

Quick, knowledgable, made suggestions on how to protect our art, and worked within our budget! Thank you!

- Sara M.

July 25, 2015

The manager was very nice and professional. I gave him a treasured movie poster to matt and frame. It came out beautifully! I recommend this place for all your framing needs!

- Stacy L.

August 13, 2015

I went in last week to get a framing quote. Arturo was so helpful! He really was trying to make everything happen in my VERY small budget, plus he gave me lots of alternative options. I took the pictures to a few other places and they came in almost twice as much. Parking was a little challenging to find but the fact that they even have parking is a big plus!

- Heidi B.

April 7, 2015

While hanging pictures in my 18 month old's room, I accidentally dropped two of the frames and broke the glass. It was a big mess and now that he's walking, I was concerned about him finding a missing piece of glass. I took the frames into Allan Jefferies and the gentleman I spoke with suggested that I use plexi instead of regular glass. I wouldn't have even thought to do this. He then gave me a great price and told me it'd be about 6 days. He called me 3 days later and told me the pictures were ready. The quality was better than I expected, but the customer service I received really left a lasting impression. I will continue to go here and recommend it to everyone in the South Bay. Thank you, thank you, thank you Allan Jeffries!!

- Josh L.

September 29, 2014

The best frame store I have found in the South Bay. I think Atturo genuinely enjoys every piece that comes in, and truly wants to find the best possible combination of frame and mat.

The prices were better than expected, and the quality was excellent! I have had several pieces framed here in the last few months, and this has definitely become my go-to place.

- Matthew B.

July 18, 2013

Arturo was very helpful in suggesting design elements for a custom framing project!!

- Amanda M.

March 13, 2014

We were looking for a framing place near Manhattan beach and found this place via Yelp. We were astound with the quality and the service provided by this place.

This is our first time with framing our art and Sean guided us all the way. He helped us find the mats and frames that matched our arts. He also helped us find the best prices for our frames. Really kind and helpful people!

Highly recommend :)

- Shaunty K.

December 1, 2013

I was led to Allan Jeffries from a recent Groupon and it is now my go-to frame store. As you walk into the store there are hundreds of types of frames to choose from. It can be a bit intimidating at first, but with the wonderful help of Sean you will no doubt be able to find something that will fit your piece and compliment your decor. Sean is extremely knowledgeable and offers great suggestions for frame types, mats glass, etc. He helps to walk you through the process and doesn't miss any detail. The prices can go up exponentially, so make sure to tell Sean what your price range is and he'll try to get you the best frame for your budget. I originally came to get 3 surfing prints framed and I was so pleased with the way it turned out, that my husband and I came back for 2 more custom jobs.

Thanks Sean, you're amazing!

Tip on parking: Enter at the Smog Check entrance and there are 2 - 3 dedicated parking spaces for Allan Jeffries.

- April P.

May 3, 2012

These guys are awesome. I went into their shop for a small repair and Steve treated me like I was their top customer. One of the best retail experiences I have had in a long time.

- Glen T.

May 25, 2016

I've been here several times - once to get frames for and mount for posters I had made for my boyfriend's birthday, once to get a quote on a frame, and once to have d-rings installed on the frame of a very old family piece of art.

Each time the experience has been wonderful - they're very knowledgeable, and love what they do. You might come to realize that they are out of your price range (they were out of mine for the quote on another frame), but if you want it done (and done well), I would definitely make a stop here and check it out. They've got a wonderful Yelp deal that definitely makes the quote more manageable.

- Jaime L.

December 6, 2015

Steve H. guided my husband and me with picking out the right frame and suggesting certain coatings to help protect the original movie poster we wanted framed. I picked it up a few days later and it looked great!

- Susie K.

May 15, 2015

These guys do amazing work, and for very little. They are real artists with an eye for the right frame

- Andrew A.

October 30, 2015

Got my pieces back 2 wks before they had originally quoted me, look great, very nice, super pro experience at this place.

- James A.

November 4, 2015

A quality shop! I took a plethora of items to be framed here after I found a yelp deal. I brought a signed jersey, a signed shirt, a tattered map of California, music posters and painting copies. Not only did they take the time to really help me decide what fit each individual item the best but also helped me save money by picking premise frames. They showed me so many options and let me know what was a classic way of framing for each item. I will definitely return when I have more wall space, but for now I'm enjoying all my recent AJ framed pieces!

- jessica k.

September 10, 2015

Friendly, knowledgable, and helped us pick a classy frame without blowing the budget. We couldn't be happier with our selection or with the finished product, which is hanging in our bedroom. A+ customer service and quality-- highly recommend!

- Leah B.

July 15, 2015

Great work, great advice, awesome service. The Yelp deal worked like a charm (be aware it is for custom frame work only, not frame purchases). They didn't try to upsell me at all and actually encouraged me to go with the less costly option that we agreed was the best fit. There is no way to express how much I appreciate that, and I'm sure anyone else would too.

- Mark S.

January 22, 2016

The gentleman that helped me was as sweet as can be! I painted a watercolor piece that I wanted framed and he was able to get the job done in less than 2 days. I was very pleased with the framing and the service was awesome as well! I will be coming back for all of my framing needs!

- jen p.

March 3, 2015

I've now had heritage pieces as well as small incidentals framed here and couldn't be happier. Thanks to the team there, I have no wall space left to fill. They really take the time to find you the perfect frame as well as finding it within your budget.

- Dean L.

May 20, 2015

I don't write a lot of yelp reviews, but this one is warranted. I had a CGC graded copy of Avengers #1. I needed a custom frame made that would both display the book and protect it. The frame Allan Jeffries made is both simple and elegant, and really makes the book stand out. To protect the book, they used museum grade glass. Trust me, spend the extra and get it. The difference in clarity between it and plastic is night and day. They used a simple wooden frame with extra width to make the book easily accessible. We added an off white matte to really draw attention. My frame looks amazing, and it was a very fair price.

- Tony O.

October 17, 2015

Excellent framing! Super helpful, especially because I never know what I want.
Thank you!!!!!!

- Vicki V.

August 22, 2014

Such a helpful place! Went in with some original photos from my parents wedding that I wanted to reframe for their anniversary. They helped me look through different options and find the perfect one. Made it for me quickly and were so kind throughout the process.

- Sos M.

August 29, 2014

Excellent. They are very professional and great at what they do. This is the only place I'll be going to for any framing needs.

- Nichole B.

April 18, 2015

Allan Jeffries Framing has always been one of the best stores serving the Los Angeles area. The Santa Monica location was extremely friendly and delivered my framed pictures on time. The staff answers any and all questions I have regarding what is it I need. I'm not too experienced in the framing world, so there expertise helped increase my knowledge on the things I needed to get done. Highly recommend for any Santa Monica locals! Very affordable and also give great deals

- Pierre R.

August 14, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful, they framed my painting on a rush order and everything looked great. They are "flexible" on price, which makes me think they make up the prices per foot as they go -- if you want a simple frame that you don't want to spend a lot of money on, go to Target or a craft store, otherwise this place is great for quality art frames.

- Nick G.

October 30, 2013

Never had a problem with any of my framing needs here. They've already gotten a couple of projects from me. Each one costing about $500 or $400 respectively. Not cheap. They do things right. Great customer service.

Lots of cool frames to choose from.

- Kimberley C.

June 27, 2012

I called about a piece of artwork that I have stuck to glass and although they don't work on this kind of thing they took the time to talk me through the process and guide me on what to do. They were very kind.

- Taylor W.

September 21, 2013

If customer service could be this good anywhere else, there would be no problems anywhere with the economy. Do the right thing & take care of people. Go the extra mile. That's what these folks do.

- Ground C.

December 12, 2012

I found they had a decent selection at Allan Jeffries. I had a bit of a mix-up on price, but the owner (Allan) followed up with me and sorted everything out. I think that speaks to their customer servce. They definatly know there stuff with regards to frames, if you're looking for the cheapest price they might not be the place, but it's always a trade off quality vs. price, right?

- Alan S.

April 29, 2011

I had some lovely Mark Ryden art for years that I finally got around to framing. Groupon had a special for Allan Jeffries so that prompted me to get moving. The customer experience here was fantastic. The guy that helped me (I wish I could remember his name, he was great) actually had the same art, and knew exactly what would look good. He helped me pick the perfect frame and matting, and it was actually something I would never have picked myself. I guess that is why they are the experts! He knew I was conscious about price, so he helped me select a frame from their closeout selection. It was more expensive than I anticipated, but then again I haven't framed anything in years. I would definitely go back here and would trust these guys with anything.

- cheryl g.

July 12, 2011

Ready To Get Started? We're Here For You.

Allan Jeffries Framing Located at
8301 W. 3rd St., Los Angeles, CA.
Allan Jeffries Framing Logo Phone: (323) 655-1296